

The Hon. David Littleproud MP

Minister for Agriculture, Drought and Emergency Management Deputy Leader of the Nationals

The Hon. David Elliott MP New South Wales Minister for Police and Emergency Services

JOINT MEDIA RELEASE

Sunday 21st March 2021

DISASTER ASSISTANCE EXTENDED FOLLOWING STORMS AND FLOODS IN NSW

Disaster recovery assistance has been extended to a further 18 local government areas following the severe storms and floods in New South Wales.

The additional local government areas include Blacktown, Blue Mountains, Camden, Campbelltown, Canterbury Bankstown, Cumberland, Fairfield, Hawkesbury, Hornsby, Inner West, Ku-ring-gai, Liverpool, Northern Beaches, Parramatta, Penrith, Sutherland, The Hills and Wollondilly.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Minister for Emergency Management David Littleproud said the storms and floods have already caused extensive damage and with more rain on the way the full extent is yet to be realised.

"Severe winds, relentless rainfall and widespread flooding has damaged roads and properties, businesses and public assets right across New South Wales," Minister Littleproud said.

"Through the DRFA, a range of practical assistance measures are now available to help people get back on their feet and support councils with the clean-up and repairs to infrastructure."

New South Wales Minister for Police and Emergency Services David Elliott said communities experienced significant disruption due to heavy rainfall and flooding over several days, including damage to and closure of roads and schools.

"As NSW continues to deal with this serious weather event, today's announcement will help reassure those already affected that there is assistance available to cover the costs associated with the operational response and support households, small businesses, primary producers, not-for-profit organisations and councils as they continue to repair the damaged," Minister Elliott said.

JOINT MEDIA RELEASE

Assistance available under the DRFA may include:

- help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged
- support for affected local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets
- concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and nonprofit organisations
- freight subsidies for primary producers, and
- grants to eligible non-profit organisations.

The local government areas announced today are in addition to those announced on 20 March 2021, which included Armidale, Bellingen, Central Coast, Cessnock, Clarence Valley, Coffs Harbour, Dungog, Kempsey, Lake Macquarie, Maitland, Mid-Coast, Nambucca Valley, Newcastle, Port Macquarie-Hastings, Port Stephens, and Tenterfield.

For information on personal hardship and distress assistance, contact Service NSW on 13 77 88. To apply for a concessional loan or grant, contact the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593 or visit www.raa.nsw.gov.au

Further information on disaster assistance is available on the Australian Government's Disaster Assist website at <u>www.disasterassist.gov.au</u> and Service NSW at disasterassistance.service.nsw.gov.au

MEDIA CONTACTS:

Douglas Ferguson 0455 448 985 (Minister Littleproud) Aster Ferguson 0400 469 991 (Minister Elliott)

JOINT MEDIA RELEASE