It’s time to nominate for the Premier’s Multicultural Communications Awards (PMCAs) – an opportunity to recognise excellence in the multicultural media and marketing industries.

The awards celebrate the invaluable efforts of marketing and media professionals in communicating to diverse audiences across the state. They honour the creativity and innovation of marketing campaigns that promote social cohesion and community harmony, as well as the journalists, editors, publishers, and other professionals in text, radio, television, and digital media.


Media categories

The following seven categories are open to MULTICULTURAL MEDIA ONLY. Submissions for multicultural media categories must either be submitted in a language other than English, or demonstrate the submission caters to a specific multicultural community.

  1. Best Text Report – Recognising excellence in print journalism.
  2. Best Audio Report – Excellence in audio journalism for radio or digital platforms, including podcasts.
  3. Publication of the Year – Outstanding contribution of a multicultural media publication in informing and engaging its audience.
  4. Best Audio-Visual Report – Excellence in broadcast and audio-visual storytelling, including video journalism for TV and digital platforms.
  5. Best use of Digital or Social Media – Outstanding use of digital production and multimedia storytelling, and/or social media.
  6. Young Journalist of the Year – Excellence and commitment to the fundamental principles of journalism (under 30 years of age).
  7. Lifetime Achievement Award – The pinnacle of journalistic achievement (exceeds 30 years of experience).
The following two categories are open to ALL MEDIA.
  1. Public Interest Award – Outstanding public interest journalism upholding the NSW Multicultural Principles.
  2. Alan Knight Student Award – The best piece of student journalism about cultural diversity, and/or multicultural affairs. Entry is open to secondary school, tertiary, TAFE, and private college students in NSW.

Marketing categories

Note: Public relations, advertising, and digital agencies are welcome to nominate on behalf of or in collaboration with a business or community groups within the below categories.

  1. Agency Campaign of the Year – Recognising public relations, advertising, and digital agencies.
  2. Business Campaign of the Year – Recognising internal marketing and creative teams in organisations, including the public service.
  3. Community Campaign of the Year – Recognising not-for-profits and volunteer-based groups.
All nominations must be submitted by Tuesday 20 June 2023.
The judging panel will assess each entry according to the selection criteria, taking into account all information provided. You can read more about the awards on the Multicultural NSW website.
Register and nominate here.